RealEstateHours.com

Home | About Us | Contact Us | Help | System Req. | School Policies

Real Estate Courseslicensing requirementsReal Estate School FAQRegister Now

Licensing Requirements

Washington State Licensing Requirements

NOTICE: Updated 7/01/2010

Real Estate activity in Washington is licensed by the State of Washington, Real Estate Licensing Department, Olympia, Washington.

Pre-licensing course requirements:

Becoming a licensed Real Estate broker in the state of Washington requires you meet the state requirements and complete all steps in the application process as outlined below.

  • Must be eighteen years of age or older.
  • Must have a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • Must have fingerprints taken by any fingerprinting service approved by the WA State Patrol. A fingerprint card will be issued at the testing center.
  • Applications will be accepted conditionally after successfully completing the process and passing the exam, based upon results of fingerprint and any past criminal violations.
  • Complete a 60 clock-hour course in real estate fundamentals within the past 2 years.
  • Complete 30 clock-hour course in Real Estate Practices within the past 2 years.
  • Pass the broker Exam.
    • You will schedule your exam online, by phone or mail with the testing vendor, Applied Measurements Professionals, Inc, (AMP) to schedule your exam. You can visit their website at www.goamp.com Choose the "Real Estate" category and select Candidate Handbook for details.
    • Your Certificates of Completion and Candidate Examination Document(s) with school's stamp must be obtained from your school, prior to scheduling your Exam at one of the testing sites in the state.
  • Upon passing the Exam, (70% required) submit a Real Estate License Application and completed fingerprint card with required fee to the Department of Licensing within one year of passing the exam.
  • If you fail either portion of the Exam, you will need to retake that part of the test within 6 months of the original test date.

For more information and fees contact Washington State Real Estate Licensing.

Managing Brokers License Requirements:

  • Must be eighteen years of age.
  • Must be a high school graduate or equivalent.
  • Must prove have a minimum of 3 years experience as an active real estate broker or other qualifying experience as outlined by the state. (WAC 308-124A-71'3)
  • Successfully complete the 90 clock hours of State approved courses below within 3 years of applying to take the exam:
    • 30 clock hours Advanced Real Estate Law
    • 30 clock hours Brokerage Management
    • 30 clock hours Business Management
  • Pass the managing broker exam
    • You will schedule your exam online, by phone or mail with the testing vendor, Applied Measurements Professionals, Inc, (AMP) to schedule your exam. You can visit their website at www.goamp.com Choose the "Real Estate" category and select Candidate Handbook for details.
    • You must first obtain a Candidate Examination Document for Broker Candidates from the DOL website and have your current managing brokers verify the last 3 years of employment as a broker. Submit the signed dated form to the Department of licensing for approval.
    • Your Certificates of Completion and Candidate Examination Document(s) with school's stamp(s) must be obtained from your school, prior to scheduling your Exam at one of the testing sites in the state.
  • Upon passing the Exam, submit a Real Estate Broker Manager License Application and completed fingerprint card if not on file with required fees to the Department of Licensing within one year of passing the exam.
  • If you fail the Exam, you will need to retake any failed portion within 6 months of the original test date.

For more information and fees contact Washington State Real Estate Licensing.

License Renewals - Continuing Education Requirements:

Due to the changes in licensing categories within the State on July 1, 2010, the State is requiring all licensees take a 3-hour "Transition Course" which details the changes in these different classifications and subsequent changes in WA Real Estate codes. This course must be completed by all licensees on their first renewal after June 30,2010. Credit from this course may be applied towards the 27 clock hours of elective courses.

  • Licenses must be renewed every two years on or before the licensees 2nd birthday after the issuance of their original license.
  • Your first broker's license will expire on your second birthday following the issuance of the license.
  • A broker actively renewing for the first time following the issuance of their Real Estate license prior to July 1, 2010, must complete only 60 clock-hours of approved courses that includes the mandatory Core Class plus a 30-hour course in real estate practices and 27 clock hours of elective courses Your first brokers license will expire on your second birthday following the issuance of the license.
  • Brokers who are renewing for the first time following the issuance of their Real Estate
  • License after June 30,2010, are required to complete 90 clock-hours of State approved courses.
    • o 30 clock-hours of Advanced Real Estate practices,
    • 30 clock-hours of Real Estate Law,
    • 3 clock-hours Mandatory Core Course
    • 3 clock hours mandatory Transition Course (2010-2011 only)
    • Remaining clock-hours of electives.
    • Complete a fingerprint card by a service approved by the WA State Patrol for background check (Must be completed every 6 years.)
  • All other licensee renewals, must take 30 clock hours of State Approved Continuing
  • Education Courses:
  • 3 clock-hours mandatory Core Class.
  • 3 clock-hours mandatory Transition Course (2010-2011 only)
  • Remaining clock- hours any state approved elective courses
  • Complete a fingerprint card by a service approved by the WA State Patrol for background check. Submit completed card to the DOL (Department of Licensing)
    • (Must be completed every 6 years)
  • Reporting your completion of the required courses to the Real Estate Licensing Department and fingerprint card is the licensee's responsibility.
  • Real Estate Office Managing brokers may require you give copies of your Certificates of Completion to the Office to substantiate your fulfillment of licensing renewal requirements and may report your renewal clock-hour information to the State as a courtesy to its agents.

For more information and fees contact Washington State Real Estate Licensing.

TESTIMONIALS

Thanks Jeneane, for everything! The courses were great!

Carlene

Copyright © 2014, RealEstateHours.com All Rights Reserved
RealEstateHours.com 15600 NE 8th St, Suite B 1, #337 Bellevue, WA 98008 | 206-407-3561 - 866-667-7090